Maryland flag Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Treasurers, 1775- 

gold line

See also Colonial Treasurers 1694-1775


History of the Office of the Treasurer

Treasurers, 1775- 

Treasurers of the Eastern Shore

1775-1777   William Hindman
1777-1778   James Hindman
1778-1779   Edward Hindman
1779-1789   Henry Dickinson
1789-1802   William Richardson
1802-1813   William Chambers
1813-1825   William Richardson
1825-1826   John K.B. Emory
1826-1840   William K. Lambdin
1840-1841   Perry Robinson
1841-1842   John H. Harris
1842-1843   Perry Robinson

Treasurers of the Western Shore

1775-1804   Thomas Harwood, Jr.
1804-1826   Benjamin Harwood
1826-1843   George Mackubin
1843-1844   James S. Owens
1844-1852   Dennis Claude

State Treasurers

1852-1854   James S. Owens
1854-1860   Dennis Claude
1860-1862   Sprigg Harwood
1862-1870   Robert Fowler
1870-1872   John Merryman
1872-1874   John W. Davis
1874-1885   Barnes Compton
1885-1886   John S. Gittings
1886-1890   Stevenson Archer
1890-1892   Edwin H. Brown
1892-1896   Spencer C. Jones
1896-1900   Thomas J. Shryock
1900-1916   Murray Vandiver
1916-1918   John M. Dennis
1918-1920   William P. Jackson
1920-1935John M. Dennis
1935-1963   Hooper S. Miles
1963-1973   John A. Luetkemeyer
1973-1975   J. Millard Tawes
1975-1987   William S. James
1987-1996   Lucille Maurer
1996-2002   Richard N. Dixon
2002- Nancy K. Kopp


Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 18, 2015Maryland State Archives