Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1852-1854 Thomas Harbine (D)
1855-1859 Andrew K. Syester (W)
1859-1863 William Motter (D)
1863-1865 Francis Moore Darby (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):
1865-1867 Francis Moore Darby (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1867-1871 Henry H. Keedy, Jr. (D)
1871-1873 John C. Zeller (R)
1873-1875 Henry H. Keedy, Jr. (D)
1875-1879 Edward Stake (R)
1879-1883 John F. A. Remly (R)
1883-1887 M. L. Keedy (R)
1887-1891 J. Augustine Mason (D)
1891-1895 Charles A. Little (D)
1895 William J. Witzenbacher (interim)
1895-1899 Charles D. Wagaman (R)
1899-1903 Thomas A. Poffenberger (D)
1904-1907 Albert J. Long (D)
1908-1912 Alexander Armstrong (R)
1912-1916 Scott M. Wolfinger
1916-1920 Omer T. Kaylor
1920-1924 D. Angle Wolfinger
1924-1927 Elsworth R. Roulette
1927-1930 Harper E. Ballentine (D)
1930-1935 J. Lloyd Harshman (R)
1935-1938 Martin L. Ingram (R)
1938-1943 Charles F. Wagaman (R)
1943-1951 Martin L. Ingram (R)
1951-1955 John S. Hollyday (D)
1955-1959 Omer T. Kaylor, Jr. (R)
1959-1963 James F. Strine (D)
1963-1970 David K. Poole, Jr. (D)
1971-1975 Daniel W. Moylan (D)
1975-1979 John S. Hollyday (D)
1979-1982 John R. Salvatore (R)
1982-2004 M. Kenneth Long, Jr. (R)
2004- Charles P. Strong, Jr. (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives