Educational matters that affect Queen Anne's County come under the control of the Board of Education (Code Education Article, secs. 4-101 through 4-126).

The Board is composed of seven members. Five are elected by the voters to four-year terms (Code Election Law Article, secs. 8-801 through 8-806). Chosen by students at Kent Island High School and at Queen Anne's County High School, two nonvoting student members serve one-year terms (Code Education Article, secs. 3-101 through 3-105; 3-10A-01 through 3-10A-04).


The Queen Anne's County Public School System is governed by the County Board of Education (Code Education Article, secs. 4-101 through 4-126). In addition, through the review and approval of the annual operating and capital budgets, Queen Anne's County government exercises authority over the County Public Schools. Moreover, through the establishment and monitoring of various financial and academic policies and regulations, the State Department of Education also has considerable oversight of county public schools. Indeed, under Maryland law, the State Department of Education works with county public schools to comply with requirements and mandates of federal law.

In the Queen Anne's County Public School System are fourteen schools: 2 high schools, 4 middle schools, and 8 elementary schools. In Fiscal Year 2016, some 7,751 students were enrolled in the County's public schools.

The Superintendent of Schools administers the Queen Anne's County Public School System, and serves as executive officer, secretary, and treasurer of the Board of Education (Code Education Article, secs. 4-102; 4-201 through 4-206).

With the approval of the State Superintendent of Schools, the Board of Education appoints the Superintendent of Schools to four-year terms.


On December 22, 1965, Chesapeake College was chartered as Maryland's first regional community college. It opened for classes in September 1967 at Queen Anne's County High School in Centreville. In September 1968, the College began moving to its present location at Wye Mills.

[photo, Todd Performing Arts Center, Chesapeake College, Wye Mills, Maryland] A two-year college, Chesapeake College serves the residents of Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's and Talbot counties. Based at its Wye Mills campus in Queen Anne's County, the College has centers at Cambridge and Easton, and offers courses at local schools and community centers throughout the upper Eastern Shore of Maryland (Code Education Article, secs. 16-201 through 16-203).

Todd Performing Arts Center, Chesapeake College, Wye Mills, Maryland, October 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


Founded in 1909, the Queen Anne's County Free Library is governed by Maryland statute and the Library's Charter and By Laws.

The main branch of the Library is in Centreville. The Kent Island Branch, which opened in 1989, is in Stevensville.

Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright October 22, 2018 Maryland State Archives