Appointed by Attorney General (Chapter 126, Acts of 1821 December session):
1845-1850 William Matthew Merrick

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1851-1855 Bradley T. Johnson (D)
1855-1863 John A. Lynch
1864-1865 Edward Y. Goldsborough (U)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):
1865-1867 Edward Y. Goldsborough

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1867-1871 John Ritchie (D)
1871 Francis Brengle
1871-1875 Milton G. Urner (R)
1876-1882 John C. Motter (R)
1883-1887 Frank C. Norwood (R)
1887-1895 Edward S. Eichelberger (R)
1895-1899 William H. Hinks (R)
1899-1903 Glenn H. Worthington
1903-1912 Arthur D. Willard (R)
1912-1916 Samuel A. Lewis (D)
1916-1924 Aaron R. Anders (R)
1924-1931 William M. Storm (D)
1931-1935 Walter E. Sinn (R)
1935-1938 Sherman P. Bowers (D)
1938-1943 Patrick M. Schnauffer (R)
1943-1951 Edwin F. Nikirk (D)
1951-1954 Charles U. Price (R)
1954-1959 Samuel W. Barrick (D)
1959-1982 Robert Salter Rothenhoefer (D)
1982-1994 Lawrence A. Dorsey, Jr. (D)
1994-2007 Scott L. Rolle (R)
2007- J. Charles Smith III (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright October 27, 2015 Maryland State Archives