[photo, Charles County Government Building, 200 Baltimore St., La Plata, Maryland] In Charles County, the legislative and executive branches of County government are administered by the Board of County Commissioners, also known as the Commissioners of Charles County, Maryland.

Elected to four-year terms by the voters, the Board of County Commissioners consists of five members. Four of whom are elected at large, with one residing in each of the four County Commissioner Election Districts. The fifth member who holds the position of President of the County Commissioners, may reside in any area of the County and is elected at large by the voters. The terms of the Commissioners begin on the first Tuesday of December following the General Election (Code Local Government Article, secs. 9-401 through 9-406; County Code, sec. 27-1).

County Government Building, 200 Baltimore St., La Plata, Maryland, May 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright May 11, 2021 Maryland State Archives