Chair (chosen by Governor): Sam J. Abed, Secretary of Juvenile Services, 2021

Appointed by Governor: Nathaniel R. Balis; Stuart P. Campbell; Heather N. Chapman; Lynn D. Davis; Terry Dodson; Matthew E. Fonseca; Eric N. Ford; V. Glenn Fueston, Jr.; Jabriera S. Handy; Michael S. Harrison; Rosemary King Johnston; Pauline Mandel, Esq.; David A. McGlone; Scott D. Shellenberger; Melissa Sickmund, Ph.D.; Jinney S. Smith, Ph.D. Terms expire 2021.

Appointed by Senate President: Jill P. Carter; William C. Smith, Jr.; Christopher R. West.

Appointed by House Speaker: Luke H. Clippinger; Jesse T. Pippy; one vacancy.

Appointed by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals: Michael J. Stamm

Ex officio: Hannibal Kemerer, Esq., designee of Attorney General; Sylvia A. Lawson, Ph.D., designee of State Superintendent of Schools; Michael T. Guilbault, Ph.D., designee of Secretary of Health; Debbie A. Marini, designee of Secretary of Human Services; Betsy F. Tolentino, designee of Secretary of Juvenile Services; Robert L. Green, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Jennifer L. Egan, Esq., designee of Public Defender.

[photo, Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle (from Bladen St.), Annapolis, Maryland] Staff: Nicholas J. Konzelman; Jameson D. Lancaster; Lauren C. Nestor.

c/o Department of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5350
web: http://dls.maryland.gov/policy-areas/juvenile-justice-reform-council

Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle (from Bladen St.), Annapolis, Maryland, July 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

In June 2019, the Juvenile Justice Reform Council was authorized by the General Assembly (Chapter 253, Acts of 2019).

First, the Council is to establish an advisory stakeholder group. With that group, the Council will conduct roundtable discussion forums all over the State, maximizing public participation. Using data, the Council is to develop a statewide policy framework of strategies that increase public safety and reduce recidivism of young offenders. To treat juveniles who come in contact with the criminal and juvenile justice systems, best practices will be researched by the Council. Ways to limit contact of juveniles with the criminal and juvenile justice systems or otherwise mitigate the risk factors that lead to such contact are to be identified and recommended by the Council.

In pursuit of its goals, the Council may request technical assistance from the Abell Foundation, the Annie E. Casey Foundation, the Council of State Governments, the Vera Institute of Justice, or any similar organization.

In January 2021, the Council submitted its final report to the Governor and General Assembly.

Authorization for the Council ends June 30, 2021.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 19, 2021 Maryland State Archives