Camille E. Burke, Chair (chosen by Governor), 2021

Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Richard W. Fairbanks; Robert E. Hackman; one vacancy. Terms expire 2018.

Paula M. Dannenfeldt; Barbara J. Paca, Ph.D.; Lesliam Quiros-Alcala, Ph.D.; three vacancies. Terms expire 2021.

Crystal M. Faison; Paulette G. Hammond. Term expires 2022.

Monica R. Brooks; Voncia L. Molock. Term expires 2023.

Appointed by Senate President: Obie Patterson

Appointed by House Speaker: Regina T. Boyce

Ex officio: Malachy F. Rice, designee of Secretary of Commerce; Devon L. Dodson, designee of Secretary of the Environment; Subha Chandar, designee of Secretary of Health; John N. Papagni, designee of Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Joseph Griffiths, designee of Secretary of Planning; Janet Moye Cornick, Ed.D., designee of Secretary of Transportation.

Staff: Devon L. Dodson

[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] c/o Office of Secretary, Department of the Environment
Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-4499

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Oct. 1 (Chapter 460, Acts of 2003).

In March 2001, the Governor created the Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities (Executive Order 01.01.2001.01). Effective October 1, 2003, the Commission was established by statute by the General Assembly (Chapter 460, Acts of 2003). Environmental justice concerns the resolution of environmental issues in a manner equitable to all those affected by them. It has been defined as ". . . equal protection from environmental and health hazards for all people regardless of race, income, culture, and social class." (Chapter 741, Acts of 1997).

The Commission analyzes and reviews what impact State laws, regulations, and policy have on the equitable treatment and protection of communities threatened by development or environmental pollution, and determines what areas in the State need immediate attention. Moreover, the Commission assesses the adequacy of statutes to ensure environmental justice, and develops criteria to pinpoint which communities need sustaining.

On issues related to environmental justice and sustainable communities, the Commission advises State agencies. With the Children's Environmental Health and Protection Advisory Council, it coordinates recommendations on such issues.

Twenty members constitute the Commission. Twelve are appointed by the Governor, one by the Senate President, and one by the House Speaker. Five members serve ex officio (Code Environment Article, sec. 1-701).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 06, 2021 Maryland State Archives