[photo, 100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland] Chair: Michael G. Leahy, Secretary of Information Technology
Vice-Chair: vacancy

Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms: Scott Shaffer. Term expires 2018.

Cheryl L. Knott; Robert Livermore; Elliott R. Plack; Harash N. (Sonny) Segal; one vacancy. Terms expire 2021.

John E. (Bud) Gudmundson; Linda M. Loubert, Ph.D., Travis W. Marion; Malinda G. Miles. Terms expire 2022.

Steven A. Palmer. Term expires 2025.

Appointed by Senate President: Susan C. Lee

Appointed by House Speaker: Bonnie L. Cullison

100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland, July 2016. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Ex officio: Joseph Bartenfelder, Secretary of Agriculture; David R. Brinkley, Secretary of Budget & Management; Kelly M. Schulz, Secretary of Commerce; Ben H. Grumbles, Secretary of the Environment; Ellington E. Churchill, Jr., Secretary of General Services; Dennis R. Schrader, Secretary of Health; Kenneth C. Holt, Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Lourdes R. Padilla, Secretary of Human Services; Tiffany P. Robinson, Esq., Secretary of Labor; Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio, Secretary of Natural Resources; Robert S. McCord, Esq., Secretary of Planning; Robert L. Green, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Col. Woodrow W. (Jerry) Jones III, Secretary of State Police; Gregory I. Slater, Secretary of Transportation; Mohammed Choudhury., State Superintendent of Schools; Maj. Gen. Timothy E. Gowen, Adjutant General; V. Glenn Fueston, Jr., Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, & Victim Services; Walter F. (Pete) Landon, Director, Governor's Office of Homeland Security; Allison L. M. Cordell, Director, Governor's Office of Performance Improvement; Victoria L. Gruber, Executive Director, Dept. of Legislative Services; Elaine Rice Bachmann, State Archivist; Michael L. Higgs, Jr., Director of Assessments & Taxation; Russell J. Strickland, Director, Maryland Emergency Management Agency; Theodore R. Delbridge, M.D., Executive Director, Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems.

Staff: Julia M. Fischer

c/o Office of Secretary, Department of Information Technology
100 Community Place, Crownsville, MD 21032
(410) 697-9430

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Jan. 10.

In June 2014, the Council on Open Data was created by the General Assembly (Chapter 69, Acts of 2014).

The Council promotes the State policy on open data: that open data be machine readable and released to the public in ways that make it easy to find, access, and use.

Open data is that data collected by a State agency that is either required, allowed, or possible to be made available to the public without violating any law; hindering government operations; endangering public health, safety, or welfare; imposing any undue burden on the releasing agency; or disclosing confidential or proprietary information.

Guidance and policy recommendations for promoting the State's open data policy is provided by the Council, which may recommend legislation and regulations as well. With staff from across State government, the Council works to develop, maintain, and use open data and open data portals. Further, the Council plans on making open data freely available to the public, while advising the Governor and General Assembly on budget matters relating to its costs.

The legislative and judicial branches of State government, as well as Maryland's local governments are encouraged by the Council to use open data portals created by State agencies, establish their own such portals, and adopt policies consistent with State open data policy.

The Council advocates for sound records management and data preservation practices. It also works to ensure that State purchases of data processing systems, devices, and software are compliant and interoperable with State open data policy and current technology.

Formerly at 45 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland, the Council moved to Crownsville in July 2016.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 08, 2021 Maryland State Archives