Katie Fry Hester, Senate Chair (chosen by Senate President & House Speaker) (410) 841-3671, (301) 858-3671
Patrick G. Young, Jr., House Chair (chosen by Senate President & House Speaker) (410) 841-3544, (301) 858-3544

Staff: Mary A. Clarke; e-mail:
Richard L. Duncan; e-mail:
Robert K. Smith; e-mail:

c/o Department of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5530, (301) 970-5530; 1-800-492-7122, ext. 5530 (toll free)

Annual Report to Governor, Legislative Policy Committee, Senate Finance Committee, & House Economic Matters Committee due Dec. 1.

The Joint Committee on Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology originated as the Joint Technology Oversight Committee which started in July 2000 and was reauthorized in October 2003 (Chapter 11, Acts of 2000; Chapter 83, Acts of 2003). The Committee's charge was to review implementation of the Maryland Uniform Computer Information Transactions Act (Chapter 11, Acts of 2000; Code Commercial Law Article, secs. 21-101 through 21-816). To the Governor and General Assembly, the Committee could recommend changes in State law based on its findings. Additional technology-related issues could be considered by the Committee.

In October 2009, the Joint Technology Oversight Committee restructured as the Joint Information Technology and Biotechnology Committee (Chapter 140, Acts of 2009), and in June 2014 was reauthorized as the Joint Committee on Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology (Chapter 464, Acts of 2014).

To advance cybersecurity in Maryland, the Committee evaluates State cybersecurity systems and the adequacy of economic development, and job skills training programs. It works to increase knowledge, awareness, and support of advances in cybersecurity, information technology, and biotechnology, and also recommends actions to promote those industries in the State. At the behest of its co-chairs, the Committee may examine any issues relating to cybersecurity, information technology, and biotechnology.

The Committee consists of twelve members: six senators appointed by the Senate President, and six delegates named by the House Speaker (Code State Government Article, sec. 2-10A-13).

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright January 13, 2021 Maryland State Archives