clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Proceedings and Acts of the General Assembly, March 1697/8-July 1699
Volume 22, Page 4   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

4 Assembly Proceedings, Mar. 8, 1697/8-Apr. 4, 1698.

p. 2

said Countys (authorised by Law) to appeare at a certain Day
& place appointed for the Electing and Choosing four Delegates
or Representatives to serve for each of their said Countys and
two for the city of St Mary's at a Genll Assembly to be held at
our Towne and porte of Annapolis the 23d day of ffebruary
Instant as by recourse to our said writts, being had may
more fully & at Large appeare. But for certain Causes and
Considerations us thereunto Especially moving We do thinke
fitt to deferr, putt off & prorogue the sitting of the said
Assembly untill the 8th day of March next. And the same is
hereby prorogued accordingly Whereby you Every of you are
to give due notice, and in no ways to faile meeting at this
piace the said Eigth day of March appointed, Given under
the broade Seale of our said province this 21st day of ffebruary
1697/8 in the Tenth yeare of our Raigne Witness our Trusty
and well beloved ffrancis Nicholson Esqr Capt Genll and Gov-
ernor in Chiefe in and over our said province and Territorys of

Att a Councill mett & held at the port of Annapolis the 8th
day of March 1698.

The honble Sr Thomas Laurence Barrt Secretary
Colonel Henry Jowles Chancellour
Thomas Tench Esqr

This day pursuant to prorogation Sevrall Delegates Returned
by Indentures according to the writts of Election mett, who
were not before Sworne Vizt Capt Thomas Waughop, for St
Marys City, Mr Philip Clarke Major John Low, and Mr Thomas
Beale for St Marys County, Capt Richard Hill, for Ann Arun-
dell County, Mr James Crauforde & Mr John Leach Junior for
Calvert County, Mr Philip Hoskins Major James Smallwood,
Mr Henry Hawkins and Mr Benjn Hall, for Charles County,
Mr Thomas Staley, Mr George Ashman and Mr John Hall, for
Baltemore County.

p. 3

The Dedimus for swearing the Delegates was again pro-
duced pursuant whereto the aforenamed Members had admin-
istred unto them by his Matys honble Councill present the Oaths
appointed by Act of parliament to be taken instead of the
Oaths of Allegiance and Supremacy, who severally Likewise
Subscribe the Test.
The Sevrall members sworne this day & before tooke Leave
& repaired to the Stadt house.
His Excy ffrancis Nicholson Esqr his Matys Capt Genll & Govr

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Proceedings and Acts of the General Assembly, March 1697/8-July 1699
Volume 22, Page 4   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives